North Carolina Symphony: New World Symphony

  • Dates: November 15, 2019 - November 16, 2019
  • Recurrence: Recurring daily
  • Venue: North Carolina Symphony
  • Location: Downtown Raleigh
  • Address: 2 E. South St., Raleigh, NC 27601
  • Phone: 919.733.2750
  • Times: 8-10pm
  • Admission: $18+


Julia Wolfe: Big, Beautiful, Dark, and Scary*

Bartók: Music for Strings, Percussion, and Celesta

Dvorák: Symphony No. 9 “From the New World”

The universal popularity of Dvorák’s “New World” Symphony lies in the perfection of its expressive melodies, feeling immediately familiar and stirring a sense of nostalgia. Similarly, Bartók’s Music for Strings, Percussion, and Celesta is so masterfully constructed that every note seems inevitable, start to finish. André de Ridder conducts.

*evening performances only