Throwback Night at Wake County Speedway (Line-X 155)

  • Dates: August 19, 2022
  • Venue: Wake County Speedway
  • Location: South Raleigh
  • Address: 2109 Simpkins Rd., Raleigh, NC 27603
  • Times: 6pm
  • Admission: Adults, $15; Children 6-12, $5; Pit passes, $30-$40


Are you ready to throw it back? Wake County Speedway is celebrating 60 years of action in 2022, and Aug. 19 is officially Throwback Night! 

This track in South Raleigh didn't earn the nickname "America's Favorite Bullring" by happenstance. The paved, quarter-mile track's tight corners play home to Friday night rock 'em-sock 'em, door-bangin' stock car action. A number of current and former NASCAR drivers have cut their teeth at Wake County Speedway during its long and storied history, including J.D. McDuffie, Benny Parsons, Ken Schrader, Loy Allen Jr., Dennis Setzer, Randy Renfrow, Mason Diaz and current NASCAR Cup star Ryan Blaney.

Wake County Speedway will honor former/retired race car drivers on Throwback Night, with as many as 40 racers expected to be in attendance. 

On the track, the Line-X 155 will include 60 laps of late model stock car racing, where a handful of drivers, including leader #15 Clay Jones, are still jockeying for the track championship as the season is about two-thirds of the way done. 

Photo credit: Bryan Regan