May 26, 2008

NCAA Cary Regional Field Released


INDIANAPOLIS - No. 2 national seed North Carolina learned Monday it will host UNC Wilmington, Elon and Mount St. Mary's in the NCAA Cary Regional when the 64-field team of the 2008 NCAA Division I Baseball Championship was announced on ESPN.

The Tar Heels (46-12) will meet the No. 4 seed Mountaineers (21-32) at 6 p.m. Friday at the USA Baseball National Training Complex, with the No. 2 seed Seahawks (42-15-1) and No. 3 seed Phoenix (43-16) opening play at 2 p.m. Friday.

The Cary Regional champion will advance to face the winner of the Conway (S.C.) Regional in the Super Regional round for the right to advance to the College World Series in Omaha, Neb.

A top-eight national seed for the second straight season, Carolina is making its 23rd NCAA postseason appearance and its record seventh straight. The Tar Heels are 30-18 in NCAA play under Mike Fox and are coming off back-to-back trips to the finals of the College World Series.

UNC has never faced Mount St. Mary's and owns a 45-12 all-time record against UNCW and a 24-8 record against Elon, including a loss to the Phoenix earlier this season in Cary. The Mountaineers (Northeast Conference) and Phoenix (Southern Conference) both earned automatic bids as their league champions. The Tar Heels and Seahawks claimed at-large berths.

Ticket information is available on the ticket page

Friday, May 30

Game 1: #2 UNC Wilmington (42-15-1) vs. #3 Elon (43-16), 2 p.m.
Game 2: #1 North Carolina (46-12) vs. #4 Mount St. Mary's (21-32), 6 p.m.
Saturday, May 31
Game 3: Loser Game 1 vs. Loser Game 2, 1 p.m.
Game 4: Winner Game 1 vs. Winner Game 2, 5 p.m.
Sunday, June 1
Game 5: Winner Game 3 vs. Loser Game 4, 1 p.m.
Game 6: Winner Game 4 vs. Winner Game 5, 5 p.m.
Monday, June 2
Game 7: 1 p.m. - IF NECESSARY (If Game 5 winner also wins Game 6)